The “Real” Gotcha Day!

Finally – the day has come – Ian is ours legally!  I feel like I should keep pinching myself!  God is so good!  There have been shattered dreams in my life in regards to becoming a mother to another child, but yesterday,  a new dream realized.   Yesterday started out as a frustrating day, as we found out that getting Ian’s ID number was going to take longer than usual and that we would not be going home as soon as hoped.  But then, our incredible reunion with Ian.  We all shared tears as the staff, who have loved on my dear son the last few years, hugged, said sweet words and gave him very personal gifts.  The staff chipped in and bought him a beautiful cross necklace (so that “Christ would always protect him”), a microscope set, and a picture book of Ukraine, written both in Ukraine and English so that he could “always remember where he came from” along with a very personal inscription from the director.  I wish I could share pictures but you will have to wait – I haven’t figured it out yet and my better half has to help me.  The director, took me in her arms and told me that she didn’t know why, but she trusts me, and knows that we are the family for Ian…more tears….even now.  It still feels surreal.  Olivia, Ian and I celebrated by going to McDonalds and having icecream (Ian’s choice of course).  Ian was giddy.  He talks a lot more than anyone else in our family does! He sure likes his sweet treats too!   He adores Olivia and she adores him as well.    What a true gift that she can share in this experience and have this bonding time with Ian before the craziness begins once we are home. Ian syped with his new “pappa”, and talked on the phone with his new brother and sister and Oma.  He counted to 20 in English for them. The only real challenge during our first day was getting him to bed.  Of course, he didn’t want to go to sleep….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The “Real” Gotcha Day!

  1. Sunnie says:

    Boy was I disappointed when I saw that password protected post—-whewwww so glad it was accidental!!! Thanks for sharing with us!!!
    I cannot wait to watch your journey with this precious child!!!
    SO happy fory ou all!!
    Sunnie in NC

  2. Carrie says:

    Rejoicing! I just love how God makes dreams come true for Ian! I’m bettting God’s got some great plans in store for him and your whole family!

  3. flyinjuju says:

    What a wonderful day!! It has been a blessing to follow you on this journey, thanks for sharing.

  4. Laura says:

    ha!! i too was disappointed when that last post was password protected! but, i’m so glad to read that this dream has finally become reality for all of you! praying for a smooth transition HOME!!!

  5. Maaike says:

    Congratulations! We are celebrating with you and shedding a few tears of joy, too, from the Netherlands. Yea! Ian has come into the fold of his family! He is home! We’re very happy for you all!

  6. Becky says:

    I too was disappointed. My oldest daughter knows I follow your blog and has asked from time to time how things were going! Russia is her country of choice, should the Lord lead.

  7. Jan says:

    Rejoicing with you that Gotcha Day has finally come! The Lord is so good! I have loved following Ian’s story and I’m so grateful that you have shared it with us! Praying for your family as you continue to bond as a family! Praise the Lord!

  8. Congratulations! Looking forward to seeing the pictures!

  9. brenda says:

    Oh..so glad to read about this!!! What a wonderful send-off. So special! I’m also glad your daughter is there with you and Ian. Enjoy your wait with your new son!!

  10. Myndi Shafer says:

    Beautiful! Can’t wait to see your pictures!

  11. Tanya says:

    Congratulations!

  12. Cheri says:

    When I saw it was password protected- I was like “HOW DO I GET A PASSWORD?!?!?!?!?!” I am addicted to seeing this little boy come home . . . I started following him when he was going to be sent off to “the really bad place” 😦 My heart would have loved to take him myself- something about this little boy spoke to me. . . . (But I don’t have any paper work done, and I don’t have the financial means to do it) I’m so glad I get to follow his journey with you!! If you ever do make this “password protected” please make sure I get a password, I feel as though you all are MY family too. (Oh by the way, I’m Ukrainian- I’m the first generation in my family born in the US)

  13. annie says:

    Oh happy day! Praise the Lord.

  14. Sarah B. says:

    I am soooo happy for Ian and for your family! I can’t wait to see pictures. What a beautiful miracle to observe!

  15. Tara G. says:

    Kristen- found you! 🙂 What a pleasure to see you at church today and I’ll enjoy catching up on your blog this next week!

  16. Tara says:

    Congratulations! It looks like the statement “Good things come to those who wait” has never been truer. Much happiness to you and yours especially Ian for finding his forever family.

  17. tears of joy. welcome to your new family, Ian! I can’t wait to meet you!!

Leave a Reply

