We are called to love…

Hey everyone this is Mat.  Today, I want to share something that God has shared with me over the past few days.  We all know that we are called to love (Matthew 22:36-40) but I learned a little why we are called, no commanded, to love.

Today I was struck by this one girl at the camp.  She is a younger girl (maybe between 6 and 8), is pale in complexion and dark hair.  Since we have been visiting we have seen her, but she has always been off to the side.  So, before we visit with Ian, we will take some time to “love” on all the kids.  From the start I have been pulled to this sweet little girl and on several occasions hugged on her or asked her to play a game or just showed an interest in her.  Well today, she came to me right away and her face lit up.  And what I saw was her soaking in my attention, love and me saying through my actions (looking in her eyes, smiling brighter when I see her, reaching out to her, etc) that she is valuable.  I beleive that these children need that from men more than we realize.  In a lot cases they have had very limited interactions with men.  They need to see how love is to be expressed and feel that love that God has for them, and we are needed to show this love as we are made in God’s image.

 This is the only picture I have of her but she has her back to the camera, like I said she has been in the shadows.

In a lot of ways I believe that God commands us to love Him and one another because it is the thing that we can do that will have the most impact on people and the world.  What a turnaround I have seen in this girl and the faces of all these children when we show them genuine love.  And on the other hand you have to wonder what damage we do when we withhold our love or demonstrate hate.

I have also seen love received and given by Ian and his friends.  Today, we where picking berries and Ian’s friend made it a point to share one berry with me, then one with Kristin and then he would eat one.  And how is face lit up when you ate the berry that he picked. 

Don’t those smiles just touch your heart?

I find it awesome when God reveals a little more of whole truth to me.  Today he showed me we are called to love because that is the biggest way we can have an impact on the world.  So, I am challenged now to see how I can put myself in a place where I can love people more – at work, at home, at church, at the community pool and in Ukraine. It will require a change in some of my priorities, where I put myself higher than I should, but it will pay huge dividends and bring glory is His name.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to We are called to love…

  1. Carrie says:

    Mat, You and Kristin are already great Godly examples of loving like He does. We love you!

  2. JD in Canada says:

    The light of Christ is beautiful beyond measure through you… continue to shine, Matt and Kristin, to be a light in a world where darkness fights so hard to win. Light and love always win.

  3. karen says:

    Hi Mat and Kristin… I’m a friend of the Piepons and have known Vanya’s story since the Fall–what amazing little guy! I live just a block from Jim and Mariana. Would love to meet you while you are here in Kiev. I have an adoptive family staying with me this week- so it would be fun to have you over one evening for dinner if you’d like. just send me an email if you are interested: karensprings@gmail.com
    blessings!
    Karen

  4. Bonnie says:

    Matt, what a beatiful entry you decided to share. Both you and Kristin are in my thougths and prayers every step of your journey. Blessings, Bonnie

Leave a Reply

