We’re going to meet our Son!!

Friday we learned that we have an appointment with the SDA in a week!  We have to be on a plane by Wednesday! I can hardly believe that I will be meeting my son in a little over a week!  We are in a wild frenzy trying to get everything done that needs to be done to leave in 3 days.  But as wild as it is, once again,  God is clearly showing how His hand is on this.  Apparently the SDA is giving appointments in an  “unheard” timeframe   (usually it’s 2-3 weeks)  because they say they are shutting down July 11th.  So, God is getting us  there before then! Not only that, during out first few days in Kiev, we will be staying with the missionaries that know Vanya personally!  We get to know a little about Vanya first hand before we even meet him!  They wrote me that Vanya will be “sooooooo excited when he finds out” and “the orphanage staff is very happy for him”.   Oh how I wish I could see his reaction when he finds out his family is so close to coming for him.   And what a gift for us to stay with people that help us navigate around (they have lived there 10 years).   I just can’t believe how God is letting everything come together!  Back to the home front, our kids are so excited as well.  We quickly bought a scrapbook, developed pictures yesterday, and they have been putting it together for Vanya!  We’ve been debating a bit about how we might modify is name a bit (after we ask Vanya first).  Some of the top runners are Van, Vaughn, or Vance.  I really like Van, but the kids, in an era of mini-vans, can only think of Van in the context of a mini-van.  Unlike me,  who is in the era of Eddie Van Halen, Van sneakers,  Van Morrison, but most significantly, the memory of an awesome teacher in elementary school who was named Van.   We’ll see.

Some of my kids leave for camp tomorrow.  I could see a bit of anxiety last night as they get ready to leave, knowing that we won’t be here when they get back.  And also knowing that when we do get back, our family dynamics will never be the same.  The reality is that there are so many unknowns, and it is really scary at times.  How thankful I am that we can go to God for comfort  and encouragement.  And I just love how I can look back on everything He has done in just the last 2 months to clearly show us that Vanya was chosen for our family.

With such short notice, I doubt I’ll get any writing done before we leave (we don’t even have a place for Vanya to sleep set up yet), so the next time I update will probably be from Ukraine! Wahoo!  Thanks to all who continue to pray for us!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to We’re going to meet our Son!!

  1. Sarah Blight says:

    I have the goosebumps reading your post! I will be praying for your trip and absolutely can’t wait to hear about Vanya’s long awaited union with his family! Thank you for sharing this journey! (PS we are friends of the Salvants).

  2. Diana Walker says:

    The little boy who asks every day if his family is coming for him, “has anyone picked me yet?” Will finally get a “Yes!” answer!!!! Praise a mighty God who cares for each of His children individually and personally!!! Blessings to you! We will be praying for your trip and for your sweet new son as he finally gets to meet his Mom and Dad he has waited so long for!

  3. Amy says:

    Oh to be a fly on the wall when Vanya finds out his forever family is finally coming to take him home.So excited for him and you.Will continue to pray for your family.Have a safe trip.Warm Blessings!~Amy

  4. brenda says:

    Wow! What a whirlwind!!! Can’t wait for that little boy to have his family! Will pray for your kiddos.

    So exciting!

  5. Adeye says:

    Oh my goodness…..sooooooooo exciting!!!!!! Unbelievable how fast it has been. So God 🙂 I can hardly wait to journey along here on your blog.

    Rejoicing with you 🙂

  6. Susan A says:

    that’s just so awesome 🙂 may He bless you and your household with joy 🙂

  7. Mel G says:

    Praise the Lord God Almighty!! I am so very excited and happy for you! I’ve been following Vanya’s story and earnestly Praying with my entire family for him, since Adeye first mentioned about this beautiful, precious child. My heart is rejoycing!! I will continue to pray for your travelling, the meeting with him, the adjustment when you come home and general Blessings in Abundance!!
    Lots of Love, from my heart to yours.
    xx

    Ps: PLEASE do not call him Van. (He will be teased endlessly if he ever travels to South Africa!) – Why not keep his name Vanya? It i so beautiful and is of Russian and Hebrew origin, and the meaning of Vanya is “God is gracious”. (Diminutive of John via Ivan) Don’t you think this is prophetic?

  8. I am so ecstatic and thankful! We will be praying and supporting you in every way! God be praised!

  9. Kristen says:

    Oh my goodness! I am so excited for your family and Vanya! Praying for a smooth trip!!

  10. Amanda says:

    How Exciting!! I’ll be praying that things go smoothly for ALL of your family!

  11. Sue J. says:

    May God continue to bless you in everything, with every step to Kiev! Know His presence and praise Him with thanksgiving! Prayers for safe travels and for walls to continue to fall flat before you. Looking forward to your next messages….

  12. Sunnie in NC says:

    Soooooo excited for you all!! Will be following along with you on your blog!!!

  13. JD in Canada says:

    Beside myself with joy for your family and for Vanya…. oh, the joy that will burst from his heart when he learns that his family has come for him and that God has answered his prayer beyond measure!!!

    I love the name Vanya, but another consideration might be Vanson — “son of” — since that is the answer to his prayers after all… to be the son, to have parents claim him!

  14. Elle Bee says:

    Loving following your journey! God bless you!

  15. Sheila says:

    I am so excited that you are going to meet your little one.
    It is pretty awesome that you are having a chance to stay with the people that know him so well, and that is a blessing in itself.

    Now while you are there will you have a court date and be able to bring him home on this visit or will you have 2 different trips. I know some people have 2 trips and then some only go for one trip. I honestly would prefer one trip only. LOL!!

    I cannot wait to follow along with you during this journey with meeting and getting to know Vanya.

    BTW, I am from the Van Halen days as well but I agree with your kids, when you said the name Van the first thing I thought of was him being teased about being named after mini vans.

    Sheila

  16. Emi says:

    Can’t wait to see your first meeting with him! and about his name, what about Ivan? I’m from Argentina, and we pronounce it ee – VAHN (with accent on van), I also love Vanya 🙂

Leave a Reply

