It rained…but they came..

It rained on our yard/bake/jewelry fundraiser sale on Saturday, but that didn’t seem to stop an amazing turnout of people, many of whom gave so, so generously to help us bring Vanya home.  I feel teary just reflecting on the generosity of time, manpower, and donations.  Little by little, our  garage, then the porch filled with stuff that generous people dropped off for our sale through out the week.  Then,  friends and neighbors (and my parents who were visiting) were up before 6 a.m. to load and unload all that stuff to a church pavilion (sale location – 3 vans, a truck and trailer).  More friends, baked, and brought homemade breakfast sandwiches to sell.  My Premier Jewelry selling friend laid out a table of beautiful jewelry to sell, and gave us 100% of the proceeds ($175).  Kids helped with the bake sale (and I, in exchange, gladly gave away our turtle to a loving home).  My friend’s 12 year old son helped people take their purchases  to their cars and got $13 in tips – all of which he gave to us.  More manpower came to help us load what was leftover (after the Salvation Army had to cancel on us – very unfortunate).  How blessed we were that day!  Not only that, I got to meet another family that adopted from the Ukraine.    And, FINALLY, I met Adeye, the women who earlier this year, prayed to learn about a child in the Ukraine that she could advocate for.  She specifically prayed for a child that was in a desperate situation.   That child was Vanya and through a phone call from  a friend, we learned about him and now he is on his way to our family!   What an amazing day!

The versethat God led me to this week was Matthew 21:22  “In all things, whatever youask in prayer, believing, you will receive”.  Well, I prayed that prayer, asking God to help us  raise enough to cover our airfare to the Ukraine ( $3000), and well, can you guess? We ended up with  over $2058, AND THEN, one of my most treasured friends in this world,  matched our proceeds, and so our grand total is $4058 and some change.   Not only do have our plane tickets paid for, but also Vanya’s one way return home!   I am utterly utterly amazed….THANK YOU THANK YOU, from the bottom of my heart to ALL who supported and gave to us.  God exceeded any expectations.  I am in such awe at how  God continues make it so clear that our journey to Vanya, is HIS will.

I will add some pics this weekend (my helpmate has to help me with that piece)!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It rained…but they came..

  1. Susan A says:

    How so awesome that the Lord matched all your needs to bring home your son! 🙂 🙂

  2. JD in Canada says:

    Time and time again, God has moved mountains to provide for Vanya — what a beautiful story unfolding… such a blessing to witness it through this blog. God has BIG plans for that precious boy!!

  3. Diana Walker says:

    So glad that sweet Vanya is one step closer to home! Blessings to you and Praise to The Father who is faithful! 🙂

  4. Cathi says:

    What a great post! I’m so happy to hear how God is paving the way for Vanya to come home!

  5. annie says:

    God is so good!

  6. Carrie says:

    It brings me such joy to help bring Vanya home. Love you girl!!

  7. Sarah B. says:

    I have been following Vanya’s story through April Salvant (childhood friend) and Adeye. What an amazing testiment of God’s provision and His heart for the orphan. I was chatting with April just yesterday about how God’s hand has been and will continue to be on your lives. I can’t wait to hear (read) about Vanya finally coming home!! Blessings!

  8. Sarah says:

    Our God is so good!

Leave a Reply

