oh no, rain on Sat…

Two weeks until our submission date!  Wahoo – all the paperwork is coming together!  It may be a little close on one document, but I’m confident!  Not being a detail oriented person, looking over all these papers for the 3rd or so time is painstaking, but will be worth it.  So, in light that we hope to be purchasing plane tickets in the next few weeks (at least $3000 at current flight rates for just Mat and I), I decided to participate in my neighborhood’s annual community yard sale and make it a fundraiser specifically for the trip to meet our boy! Oh how I pray that I will get to meet him in July (no new word on the possibility of a shut down as far as I know)!  I feel giddy about it sometimes!  Anyways, I  put the word out, and had my garage full in about a week!  We decided to add a bake sale too!  It has gotten big enough that a friend arranged for us to use the field of a church across the street from the hood!  Most items will just be offered at a “donation” price, and I have big hopes for a successful collection (as best as can be expected for a yard sale).  But, now, rain in the forecast…ugh.  But, I know that whatever is to be, will be ( God is in control), and I will just pray that the rain holds off long enough to make some profit.  I just hope I’m not lugging trucks full of good stuff to good will in the rain…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to oh no, rain on Sat…

  1. Amanda says:

    I will pray that it does NOT rain!! And, just in case, have you looked into a tent? Maybe someone would have a canopy tent, or the rental could be donated. Just an idea.

  2. Amy says:

    Don’t worry god will make it all work out.He’s already moved moutains for sweet Vanya.Keeping Vanya and your family in my prayers!

  3. Meagan says:

    I fell in love with Vanya the first time I saw his picture on Adeye’s blog. I have been following the story and have been praying for him and now your family daily!

    Are you still taking donations online? If so, where can I go to donate. I do not live close so I cannot come to the sale and didn’t get to donate when Adeye had it up on her blog. If you are able to donate online let me know how.

    • 6 Fishies says:

      Hi Megan! Thanks for you prayers! If your heart is still leading you to donate, here is the info. I’ve been trying to make it simpler, but haven’t been able to yet, so I have to take you through it the long way…sorry. http://www.eliproject.org Got to the “children” tab, and then click on HIV+. Vanya #2 will come up, and you can click on “read more”, and at the bottom is a place to click on”donate”. Then, when you get to the financial page, there is a box that says “program destination”, and when you click on that, you will see “Vanya #2 (Fisher Family)”. Thanks for following the blog – I’m not very good at it, but hope to figure out how to post a picture of the yard sale this week – it was a huge success and we were very blessed by generous donations!

  4. Dutchmom says:

    Dear family,
    I am really happy to see that Vanya has found such a great family! I want to warn you however against having a public weblog. Most people with HIV want to be able to have control over who knows about their condition. By having a public blog, anyone (such as future classmates and employers) will be able to google his name and find out he has HIV. This could have a very negative impact on Vanya’s life. It is really hard to remove something completely from the internet.
    Please know that this is not meant as criticism, just something for you to think about.

  5. Jennifer says:

    Good luck on your garage sale! I’ll be praying for a fantastic turnout! 🙂 We have a fund-raising garage sale coming up at the end of June! 🙂 Congrats on your wonderful boy! 🙂 Will be praying for your family. 🙂

  6. Ginger says:

    When we did our adoption garage sale we sold bottled water for $1 and coffee for 50c. People wanted the waters and they sold like crazy! Make sure you have some cheap bottled water to sell.

Leave a Reply

